Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist | book review

Title: Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist9780375835339_custom-cc56290d56384febeed9de8d6f5e4a4879887532-s6-c30
Author(s): Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
Publisher: Knopf Books
Publication Date: May 2005
Rating: 3.5 stars

So, I had a love/hate relationship with this book. I read it because 1) I saw the film adaptation a while ago and remember loving it, 2) I absolutely love David Levithan, and 3) I really enjoyed Levithan and Cohn’s collab “Dash & Lilly’s Book of Dares.” So yes, I decided to give this book a try. My favorite thing was the dialogue between Nick and Norah – they were so freaking smart, witty, and sarcastic, I found myself wishing I could be that quick with my words. I also loved the premise of this book – how all these seemingly random events led to such a big and life-changing thing. I have to say, though, that the writing was a bit bad in some places, to where I was either bored, confused, or just wondering about the relevance of the words, and I ended up skimming until reaching some more dialogue or a paragraph that actually held my attention. I don’t normally do that when reading – I like to read every word, but I couldn’t help myself with this book. Other than that, though, a good novel that spared me from my boredom for a couple hours.

Favorite Quote: “There’s no such thing as ready … There’s only willing.”

(read on July 07, 2014)

Leave a Reply

