Why We Broke Up | book review

9781611132960_1681X2544.jpgTitle: Why We Broke Up
Author: Daniel Handler
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
Publication Date: January 2011
Rating: 3.5 stars

When I came across this book, I just had to have it, because I knew it would depress me and make me think about my ex and bring about buried emotions. Sounds great, right???

After buying the book, I discovered that Daniel Handler is Lemony Snicket!! I loved A Series of Unfortunate Events when I was a kid, and haven’t read anything from him since. Needless to say, I was very excited for this book.

To be honest, I was somewhat let down. There were so many old movie references and detailed descriptions of old movies that I just had never heard of/would like/would be interested in, so that kind of made it less effective of a novel, and sort of bored me, too.

Other than that, though, I really enjoyed reading the book. I grew to love Min, as well as Ed, even though I just knew he would ruin everything and I would be mad at him by the end of the book. It really did make me think of my previous relationship. Min reminded me of myself a lot, what with saving all the little “treasures” from her adventures with Ed. I’ve never broken up with anybody before (yep, I’m a full-blown dumpee), but I feel like if I ever have to, I’ll do it the same was a Min: giving back everything, along with a long-ass note.

I also liked how, at the end, there were a few authors who shared their own teenage heartbreaks. The best one was funny: “Of course I had my heart broken as a teen. I was desperately in love with myself. Then I found out that I was completely shallow. I haven’t spoken to myself since” (M.T. Anderson).

All in all, this was a good novel. It did hurt to read, because it was a touchy subject for me still not being over my ex, but I think that’s why I liked it so much. Min and Ed’s story was interesting to read, and one that, I’m sure, many of us can relate to.

Favorite Quote: “I was stupid, the official descriptive phrase for happy.”

(read on July 14, 2014)

Leave a Reply

