Forbidden | book review

11288655Title: Forbidden
Author: Tabitha Suzuma
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: January 2010
Rating: 4 stars

Writing a review for this novel is…incredibly difficult. What to say…what to say…

Reading the synopsis of Forbidden, I was very intrigued. I’ve never read anything of the sorts before – a brother and sister, falling in love? It got me thinking of me and my brother kissing, and I about vomited. So, if the premise of siblings making out is so disgusting, why in the world was I hoping for a happy ending?? Why?? Who roots for incest?? My emotions did not make sense while reading this. I was intrigued and grossed out the entire time.

Obviously, as stated in the synopsis, this book does not have a happy ending. And, I must say this, it is not a book about accepting/supporting incest. No, this book is about the horrors of a neglected family and what the stress and pain drives these children to do.

Forbidden was unlike any other book I’ve read. The mixed emotions it gave me was strange and confusing, but made for an interesting experience while reading.

Favorite Quote: “You can close your eyes to the things you do not want to see, but you cannot close your heart to the things you do not want to feel.”

(read on July 18, 2014)

Leave a Reply

