Gone Girl | book review

11288655Title: Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Publisher: Crown
Publication Date: January 2012
Rating: 5 stars

Honestly, this book deserves more than 5 stars. Absolutely astounding. I decided to take a break from my infinite string of YA fiction to read this thriller/mystery/suspense gem of a novel, and thank God I did – I was blown away.Gone Girl started out like many other mysteries I’d read/seen on TV: Girl goes missing, hubby is the suspect, chaos ensues until girl escapes/is rescued by cops/is found dead. From the very beginning, I despised Nick, which is hilarious because in almost every novel I read, I end up falling for the male character (yes, even when they’re not-so-good). When I thought Nick was innocent, when I thought he was guilty, when I wasn’t quite sure anymore – through all that, I just didn’t like Nick. I started out loving Amy, then hating her, then admiring her, then just not sure about her anymore. To be honest, I had mixed emotions about the married couple. Amy and Nick. Nick and Amy. Who is guilty? Who is innocent? What even IS this book? Seriously though, this story took so many different twists and turns, I could barely keep up. It shifted from “typical-mystery” novel to “what-the-hell-is-this, what-is-life” novel. The writing was flawless, the story was unique, the characters were complex…everything about this novel blew my mind. This is probably the best book I’ve read all year. Definitely one of my all-time favorites, that’s for sure. And a film adaptation hitting theaters this October? Are you serious!?

Flynn’s novel kept me on the edge of my seat, heart pounding, furiously flipping page to page, eager to figure this story out. I started the book last night, and became so immersed that the next time I looked up from the page, it was one o’clock in the morning and I was already halfway through the book. Today at work, during my 30 minute break, I picked up where I left off and was furious when I had to clock back in. Needless to say, I devoured the last chunk of it as soon as I got home.

Loveloveloved this book, so excited for the movie. Well done, Flynn. And huzzah to me for taking a break from my YA to give such a powerful, exquisite novel a chance.

Lev Grossman from Time wrote in his review that “Gone Girl begins as a whodunit, but by the end it will have you wondering whether there’s any such thing as a who at all” and I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Favorite Quote: “There’s a difference between really loving someone and loving the idea of her.”

(read on July 24, 2014)

Leave a Reply

