Premeditated | book review

11288655Title: Premeditated
Author: Josin L. McQuein
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: October 2013
Rating: 4.5 stars

This novel surprised me – I did not expect such an incredible story. With her cousin in a coma, Dinah is out for revenge on the boy who put her there. All she has is a name and a vague physical description, until finally she’s able to put a face to the killer’s name. She and her two (adorable) friends do everything they can to make Brooks’ life a living hell. However, Dinah realizes not everything is so black-and-white, and people are not always what they seem.

This story had so many twists and turns, I tore through page after page, hungry for answers. The characters were great. Even though Brooks was the target, I couldn’t help but like him, as well as his strangely bipolar friend, Dex. Dinah’s best friends were great: Tabs sounds like someone I would want as my own best friend and Brucey, the kleptomaniac tech genius, was just too adorable for me to handle. I liked Dinah a lot, but it kind of put me off how badly she wanted revenge. I mean, obviously, if my own cousin were in the hospital for cutting because of some boy, I’d be pretty pissed, too. However, I wouldn’t do everything in my power to ruin the guy’s life. Sure, I’d confront him and tell him how much of a douche he is and ask him why he did was he did, but I wouldn’t do the kinds of things Dinah and her friends did. In fact, if Dinah would have just confronted Brooks in the first place, things would have gone a lot smoother.

Not only were the characters great, but the plot was magnificent. I didn’t even realize it was a mystery until the book was almost over (and I think that’s when Dinah realized it, too). I loved the twists and developments in the story, and I enjoyed how unique everything was compared to the hundreds of other books I’ve read. Really great story. A million times better than I thought it was going to be. A+, McQuein.

Leave a Reply

