The Loners | book review

11288655Title: The Loners
Author: Lex Thomas
Series: Quarantine
Publisher: Egmont USA
Publication Date: July 2012
Rating: 3.5 stars

I started out hating this book. I had to force myself to actually read past chapter three. I really love apocalypse, dystopian, end-of-the-world kinda books, so when I read a summary of this book, I was pretty interested in it. The story seemed great, but the writing was lackluster for a good chunk of the novel. Events seemed to spontaneously occur with no build-up, and lacked any suspense. The period of time changed often and sporadically and confused me. I was really disappointed, because it was such a great idea. It had a kind of Hunger Games element to it, and the characters were pretty interesting. Sometimes I got a little confused, what with so many different characters being introduced throughout the novel – I mean, hello, it was a giant-ass school – but that was okay. About halfway through, or maybe a little before that, the writing seemed to improve, and I began to really dive into the story. Eventually, it consumed me, and I tore through the remaining chapters.

Overall, great story, and even though I had a couple issues with the writing and such, it all rounded out and made for a good book.

(read on July 29, 2014)

One thought on “The Loners | book review

Leave a Reply

