The Virgin Suicides | book review

11288655Title: The Virgin Suicides
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication Date: 1993
Rating: 3 stars

Before I bought this book, I was reading through the reviews, and they were either 5-star-loved-it or 1-star-hated-it – nothing in between. My review, however, is the in between. I didn’t love this book, nor did I hate it – I liked it. Depression and suicide is something that has always intrigued me, so naturally, when I read the summary that this novel is about the suicides of five sisters, I was curious. I read a lot of YA, so it’s kind of refreshing to take a break and read some adult novels.

The Virgin Suicides had an interesting plot, and I have to say the characters were insanely deep and developed. The story is told by an ambiguous “we,” and there are so many characters introduced throughout the story that I found it hard to keep track. I think the main problem I had with this novel was its tendency to constantly branch off on tangents. Like I said, the character development was great, but at times it seemed a bit unnecessary and a bit too thorough. The topic would suddenly change to a very long and seemingly pointless tale about a certain character that didn’t really have much to do with the plot. I understand wanting to engage the reader in the characters’ lives, but I feel like it was excessively done. In doing so, the story became a bit boring to me, and therefore I had to force myself to read on.

Overall, though, it was a good book with an interesting story about five girls who ended their lives before ever reaching the age of 18. If you’re hoping to have all your questions answered by the end of the book, you’re going to be let down; this book leaves you with unanswered questions and a haunting reminder of how strange life can be.

Favorite Quote: “Basically what we have here is a dreamer. Somebody out of touch with reality. When she jumped, she probably thought she’d fly”.

(read on August 03, 2014)

Leave a Reply

