Sharp Objects | book review

sharp-objects-book-coverTitle: Sharp Objects
Author: Gillian Flynn
Publisher: Shaye Areheart Books
Publication Date: September 2006
Rating: 4 stars

I apologize for my lack of reviews – being in college has severely limited my time for reading. Trust me, I am not happy about it. I’ve missed reading for fun. I started Sharp Objects towards the beginning of the month, got about 20% through with it, and put it down to focus on school. It wasn’t compelling enough to read even when I had other things to do. However, I reached a lull in schoolwork this weekend, got about halfway through, and the story picked up to where I had to finish it. And now that I have, I can finally write my review.

Sharp Objects is the story of a reporter in Chicago for a newspaper that is barely paid attention to. However, when two young girls are murdered in her hometown of Wind Gap, Missouri, Camille is asked to return home and report on the murders to try and get a good story for their paper. But Wind Gap is no home to Camille, and will only lead to danger.

After reading Flynn’s miraculous Gone Gone, I knew I had to read her other novels, as well. Sharp Objects was interesting. I love a good mystery, and this one did not disappoint. All the characters in this book were strange and curious, so it was a little more difficult to pin the murders on one of them. Camille was very relatable, and her mental state intrigued me. Her half-sister, Amma, was so terribly strange and disgusting for a thirteen-year-old girl. I think that’s what I disliked the most about this novel – Amma and her friends are only in junior high, yet they are described as I would picture a high schooler, and act like one, too. It was very strange for me. The girls’ mother, Adora, was also a weirdo, and I felt bad for Camille having such a difficult relationship with her mother. My mom and I have had our rough patches (quite a few, actually), but reading about Adora and Camille’s relationship had me missing my mom and being thankful for all she’s done for me.

I think Flynn’s greatest strength is creating such unique characters. In Gone Girl, I pretty much hated almost every character in that book for the entirety of the story. Nick I hated automatically, but slightly liked him better throughout the book. In Sharp Objects, I didn’t necessarily hate the characters, I just found them to be so out-there and curious. By the end of the book, all I felt was sympathy for each and every character, especially Camille.

What I’m trying to say is that this novel is great, this author is great, and you should really consider reading her stuff. Not only are her characters interesting, but her storylines are creative and enticing. Flynn is quickly climbing the ladder to becoming one of my favorite authors. This woman is creative, daring, and a very talented writer. After finishing Sharp Objects, I had no words.

Favorite Quote: “Sometimes I think I won’t ever feel safe until I can count my last days on one hand. Three more days to get through until I don’t have to worry about life anymore.”

Leave a Reply

