The Infinite Moment of Us | book review

17290266Title: The Infinite Moment of Us
Author: Lauren Myracle
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: August 2013
Rating: 3.5 stars

Warning: If you are single, lonely, and don’t want to become jealous of fictional characters and their love, do not read this book.

Wren Grey is tired of letting her parents live vicariously through her. She’s done what she’s told her whole life – get good grades, stay away from boys, prepare to become a doctor at Emory University. After graduation, however, Wren decides she wants to follow her own dreams – helping foreign children in Guatemala through a Peace Corps. organization. And then Wren meets Charlie, and she’s not sure what she wants to do anymore.

The Infinite Moment Of Us by Lauren Myracle turned out better than I expected. I was so close to putting it down for eternity after only the first chapter. Why? The dialogue. I hated it. Detested it. Strongly disliked it. It seemed very childish and weird. I can assure you that teenagers don’t really talk like that. However, I made a great promise to myself to finish every book I ever start – yes, even the horribly shitty ones. My friends tell me that life is too short to read crappy books, but I am a reviewer, and I must stay loyal to my duty. I mean, I can’t accurately review a book if I never finished it. That’s completely unfair. So anyway, I did push through the first couple chapters, and it was worth it.

The dialogue improved and became normal, and the story drew me in pretty quickly. I really liked the main characters, and couldn’t help but fall in love with their love.

I, myself, am a single, lonely, sad human being who definitely was jealous of the romance in this novel. I thought Charlie was completely adorable and the things he did for Wren made me smile. The novel had some surprises, but overall it was just a cute romance for young adults. I’m glad I didn’t give up on it.

Leave a Reply

