Sunrise | book review

Sunrise_ARC_Cover_R2.inddTitle: Sunrise
Author: Mike Mullin
Series: Ashfall
Publisher: Tanglewood Press
Publication Date: March 2014
Rating: 4 stars

I don’t usually write reviews for sequels, and if I do, I never post them…but I think it’s time to start. This is the final installment in the Ashfall trilogy, and I beg you to give it a chance, because it’s unlike any other post-apocalyptic YA I’ve ever read. The first in the series is Ashfall (see review here), with Ashen Winter (see half-assed review here) a sequel.

It’s been quite a while since I read Ashen Winter, and I’ve read many books since reading it. I’ve had Sunrise on hold for awhile, and finally, after forgetting to claim it and then having to re-enter my request to borrow it, finally I checked it out and read it. I was nervous – not only because it’s the final book in the trilogy, but because I remember how disappointed I was with its predecessor. Not to say that Ashen Winter was bad, but it definitely did not live up to my expectations. Being the finale in the trilogy, my expectations for Sunrise were high, and it did not disappoint. The roughly 550-page book was chocked full of action, adventure, suspense, and heartache. Alex and Darla are fantastic, and their relationship (though not perfect) makes me swell with happiness. It was tough to remember all the previous events from the series, as well as the characters. There were tons of characters in this book from the previous books, as well as dozens of new ones. It was hard to keep them all straight. I liked that this book didn’t give me a sense of deja-vu like Ashen Winter had done; it was all new and exciting and fun to read. Ending a series sounds absolutely terrifying and difficult, and I give mad props to Mullin for concluding the Ashfall trilogy the way he did. He tied up any loose ends and gave a perfect sense of finality to the series. It was very well done. I’m sad that it’s over, but glad to have read it.

Leave a Reply

