Love Lies Sleeping | book review

downloadTitle: Love Lies Sleeping
Author: Lisa Dietrich
Publisher: Smashwords, Inc.
Publication Date: July 2014
Rating: 3.5 stars

I received this free e-book through one of my groups on Goodreads, for winning a contest.

The summer before Lily Deen’s senior year of high school, her mother is getting married to Sir Richard, the 9th Earl of Yarlbury. Lily and her mother spend the entire summer at Brynmoor Manor in England to prepare for the wedding and immerse themselves in English culture. She experiences pubs and hot crossed buns, learns to ride a horse, and becomes very close with two of the teenage employees at Brynmoor, brother-and-sister Simon and Jenna. Only something is not right – when Lily falls asleep at night, she has the most vivid dreams about a man named Christian. She soon discovers Christian died over 100 years ago in a riding accident. So why does he feel so real? And why is he haunting her dreams, asking for her help, and showing her memories of his past? As Lily gets closer to solving the ghostly mystery, someone in the real world begins to threaten Lily and the people she’s grown close to. Can Lily help Christian rest in peace after 150 years of pain?

I’ll be honest with you guys – I have no idea who this author is. I’ve never heard of her, and can’t find much about her on the internet. I received this book through a contest on Goodreads, and honestly put off reading it for many, many months. I then realized, why the heck am I not reading a book I got for free? Well, I then put off reading it more when I realized the first few chapters were boring me out of my mind. It was also hard to read due to the many mistakes found on page after page. I’m assuming this is a little-known book from a little-known publishing company. I’m not really sure, and I’m sorry I don’t have much information for you guys.

But anyway, the point of my review is that I ended up liking this novel the further I read on. It was one of those books where I was thinking “I’m giving this 2 stars” in the beginning, which turned to “This deserves 3 and a half stars” by the end. I’m assuming this is the first book published by Lisa Dietrich, and I have to say it was pretty decent. I became further immersed in the story the further I read, and even though a lot of it seemed very cliche, it was good. I loved Lily and Jenna’s relationship – the California teenage girl in juxtaposition with the farmstead English girl. I was also pleasantly surprised at how minimally the romance bloomed in this novel.

The writing seemed a bit amateur, but I have to say it’s a lot better than I can do at the moment. I wish I knew more about the author… I didn’t find the book on Amazon or the Ohio Digital Library, so I’m really not sure where you could find it if you wanted to read it, unfortunately. If you do find a way, I encourage it, because it was a cute story about a girl and a ghost.

Oh, and I just want to say, I love the cover art.

Leave a Reply

