Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland | book review

DSCN0829Title: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Author: Lewis Carroll
Series: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Publisher: Macmillan
Publication Date: November 1865
Rating: 4 stars

Okay, I know what you’re all thinking: Alyssa, you’re just now reading Alice In Wonderland? You’re almost nineteen years old and you’ve never read it???? Believe me, I was thinking the same thing. That’s why, when my English Honor Society had a booksale, I got really excited when I happened upon this gem in the mess of literature. The cover is felt, and the pages are filled with illustrations that are “reproduced from prints made directly from the original woodblocks of John Tenniel’s artwork,” according to the book. It’s so pretty! I’m so thankful to have found this beautiful edition.

I’ve wanted to read Alice for a long time, and I’m really glad I finally got the chance to do so, especially being an English major. I worked with it very briefly last semester in my English Language class, where we learned about phonetics, morphology, and things like that. Reading it now that I’ve had that class was cool and helped me understand it a lot more.

The story is cute, and even though it’s written about a little girl, anyone of any age could easily get involved in the storyline. The characters are all cute and fun, especially the Cheshire Cat, who is obviously my favorite. I even liked the Queen, who’s vocabulary pretty much consisted of one phrase: Off with their heads! So charming.

Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland is a classic, and the fact that it’s taken me this long to read it is embarrassing. I am glad I finally did, though, and I’m moving on to Through The Looking-Glass next (a book I also picked up at the booksale). I’m sure many of you have read this, but if not, you should, because it’s one of those books that should be universally read for years to come.

Favorite Quote: “Everything’s got a moral, if only you can find it.”

Leave a Reply

