Rebel | book review

18667026Title: Rebel
Author: Amy Tintera
Series: Reboot
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: May 2014
Rating: 4 stars

I apologize (as I so often do) for my lapse in reviews. Believe me, I know I haven’t been reading much lately. My Goodreads yearly reading goal mocks me every time I log on: “You are 9 books behind!” Thanks, I get it, I’m failing. It’s not my fault I’m a college student. The last few weeks are always very hectic for me…

Anyway, on to my review. It’s been a while since I’ve read the first in the series, Reboot, but I remember loving every minute of it. I’ve had Rebel on hold at the ODL for months, and was so glad to finally get a chance to read it.

Rebel picks up right where Reboot left off – Wren, Callum, and the other reboots finally reach the reservation, led by a reboot named Micah. Unfortunately, the reservation isn’t exactly the reboot paradise Wren and Callum were hoping for. Micah is a bloodthirsty leader and plans a genocide of the entire human race. He believes he is doing what is right, and believes that he has the people and ammunition to succeed. What he doesn’t realize, though, is that Wren, Callum, and a lot of other reboots won’t let that happen.

I have to say I enjoyed Reboot more than I did Rebel, but this was still a great sequel. I really liked that we got Callum’s point of view in addition to Wren’s this time. It was interesting to see how different these reboots are – 178 compared to 22. There was a lot of action, which was great, and just the right amount of romance for me.

Goodreads says Rebel is the “finale to the duology”, so I’m assuming that means there is not a Reboot 3 in the making. Knowing this, I think Tintera ended the series really well. She connected most of the dots, but left just the right amount of things open-ended (which may bug some readers, but that’s the best way to end a book in my opinion). I love sci-fi’s but it’s hard to come across a decent one, let alone a decent series, so I’m glad to have found Amy Tintera’s Reboot duology. The concept was fantastic and quite unique, and the author did a great job elaborating that concept. Sad to end Wren and Callum’s story, but happy to have stumbled upon such an interesting story.

Favorite Quote: “Maybe you need to take a look at who I am, instead of who you wish I were.”

Leave a Reply

