Finding Mr. Brightside | book review

DSCN2128Title: Finding Mr. Brightside
Author: Jay Clark
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Publication Date: March 2015
Rating: 3.5 stars

I received this book free through Goodreads First Reads. I enter those giveaways daily, and this was the first book I won. Goodreads is the best, and Jay Clark is amazing for sending me a free (autographed!!!!!) copy of his book. Being an English major (which I’m sure you’re all sick of being reminded that I am one), I’ve had to do a lot of heavy reading lately, and on top of that, my first summer read was Lone Survivor, not necessarily the cheeriest or easiest reads. It was really nice to sit down for a couple hours and breeze through an adorable YA novel from a fresh new author.

Juliette and Abram live on the same street, but are not exactly the friendliest of neighbors. Both teens are suffering from the loss of a parent – Juliette’s mom and Abram’s dad. The awkward part? They died together. In a car crash. They’re weren’t simply platonic friends, either… Now both Juliette and Abram are popping pills, trying to get through each day and hold themselves – and their families – together. Whereas Abram wants to reach out to Juliette, she wants nothing to do with him. However, sometimes fate intervenes, and a chance encounter at the local CVS puts into effect a chain of events that can’t change the past, but certainly changes the present and future.

The novel is told in alternating perspectives from both Juliette and Abram. It took a few chapters for me to really get into the story. I thought the beginning was a little slow, and it was hard to differentiate the characters’ voices. Obviously they are distinguished by the character’s name, but they seemed very similar, almost like they were the same character. However, a 1z55g13few chapters in, the characters took on their own voices and roles, and the story really picked up. I was drawn into Juliette and Abram’s world and stayed there for a few hours until I reached the last page.

Juliette and Abram’s growing relationship is adorable – grossly adorable, since I am lonely and alone and slightly bitter, but adorable nonetheless. It was a perfect representation of a budding relationship, and of course I was easily smitten by Abram and his charm. Clark’s style of writing is very easy to read and highly relatable – I loved it. The story was easy to get engrossed in, and it felt like I was right there with the characters.

Again, I’m so thankful not only to Goodreads, but to Jay for sending me a copy of his cute and witty book. It was a great way to spend my day off. Maybe someday I, too, will find my own Mr. Brightside.

(all I think about is The Killers’ song…)

Favorite Quote: “Ignorance is bliss trying to pretend nothing will ever change.”

4 thoughts on “Finding Mr. Brightside | book review

      1. The song is part of the reason it caught my eye lol. I mostly read contemporaries (no idea why), and although this isn’t my favorite, I’d still recommend you pick it up.

        Like

Leave a Reply

