I have a problem…

A big problem, actually. It’s called OIBB – Obsessive Impulsive Book Buying. If I enter a store and there are books within the vicinity, I will find them. And I will buy one. Or two. Or three. I can’t help it. I don’t mean to do it.

I was at Walmart the other day, looking for a gift for my older brother’s birthday. I easily found the perfect gift – a Blu-Ray collection of the Jurassic Park trilogy. And oh, hey, what do you know – the book aisle is right next to the DVD section! What a coincidence! So of course I’m perusing the books and all of a sudden I’m holding a stack of books from my tbr list that would most likely cost $50+. Being an employee of McDonald’s, I don’t make the kind of money to just buy armloads of books on a whim. So of course I did the mature, responsible thing: I put them all back.

Except one. I couldn’t not buy one! So I bought The Girl on the Train, which I’ve been meaning to read for a couple months now. I still haven’t read it (curse you, Atlas Shrugged, for being so very long and taking up so much time…), but it’s there on my bookshelf now, sitting pretty, eagerly awaiting the day I pick it up to read it. That day will hopefully come soon enough.

Now, as you can see, I have a hard time being at a store with a little book section and not buying a book. So what happens when you throw me into a store that only sells books??DSCN2880

I was with my friends at Newport last weekend and we passed a Barnes & Noble. I shielded my eyes. My money must be saved for this upcoming semester at college. I tried my hardest to avoid it. But of course my friend saw it and said she’d never been to a Barnes & Noble before. Obviously, I freaked out on her. She’s an English major from a big city where there are dozens of Barnes & Noble’s. How could she not have been to one? So that settled it – she forced me to show her around. I made her promise me she wouldn’t let me spend more than $10, which is almost impossible because a) Barnes & Noble books are crazy expensive, and b) I’m in a ginormous store surrounded by a gazillion books – how am I supposed to only spend ten dollars? I ended up leaving the store with two: The Monster calls and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. I spent $20. But it was so worth it.

So yes, I have a problem. I have OIBB. At least I have added to my magical collection of books. Unfortunately, I’ll have to pick up a couple extra hours at McDonald’s………

5 thoughts on “I have a problem…

  1. I can totally relate! I went shoe shopping at the mall with my family a couple of days ago and somehow I brought home a copy of Me and Earl, too. It’s worth it though because I’m really looking forward to reading it. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

