Tagged: Reading Habits Tag

Thank you to the wonderful Amy at The Literature Life for tagging me in this reading habits tag. This is the first time I’ve ever been tagged in anything, so thanks! I feel special now.

images Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
No, not really. I tend to just pick out a quiet, comfy place. Typically my bed because I can shift positions a million times and always stay comfortable.

images Bookmark or random piece of paper?
I prefer bookmarks, of course. I lose them quite easily, though. Right now I’m using one that has an Emily Dickinson poem on it. If I don’t have a bookmark, though, I’ll just use whatever is laying around – a piece of paper, a tissue, a receipt, etc.

images Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?
I can typically stop reading whenever. I prefer to at least reach a new chapter, but sometimes I don’t have time because I tend to be interrupted. The worst is when I go on break at work and start reading, and then 25 minutes go by and I realize I have to clock back in ASAP and I consider just hiding in the bathroom to see if anybody notices I’m missing…

images Do you eat or drink while reading?
I don’t like to eat while reading because it’s kind of distracting, but I am okay with drinking. Most times, though, I’m so absorbed in my book that I forget about food or water or whatever.

images Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
No, never. Music distracts me because I know all the lyrics to all the songs and then I’m mixing up words in the song and the words in the book. Instrumental music I might consider, though. Calming piano music, maybe? That’d be nice. Definitely not TV, though. I don’t see the point of watching fragments of something on TV while simultaneously reading a story.

images Reading at home or everywhere?
I can read almost anywhere, but I prefer to do so at home. It’s just quieter and comfier. However if I am determined to read, I will literally just bring my book out of my purse and start reading wherever I am.

images Reading out loud or silently in your head?
I mostly read silently to myself. However, I really do enjoy the act of reading out loud and if somebody asked me to read to them, I gladly would. I can’t wait to have a kid someday (someday waaaaay way in the future) so that I can read them fairytales and poetry and bedtime stories.

images Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
Okay, I have this annoying habit where sometimes I’m so into what I’m reading that, if it’s suspenseful, I’ll skip ahead to find out what happens, then go back and read it. I don’t know why! I hate spoilers and I hate the idea of finding something out by skipping, but I literally cannot stop myself. It’s weird. I don’t usually skip pages, though. (Atlas Shrugged is an exception…..)

images Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
I try not to break the spine, but usually it just happens anyway. It doesn’t bug me too much.

images Do you write in your books?
I used to hate the idea of writing in book, but often I will underline any quote that I like, or I’ll make a little note of something I was thinking. It depends on the book. My copy of We has tons of notes, and The Fault in Our Stars has a bunch of underlined quotes, whereas Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is pretty empty.

Thanks again for the tag! Here are the bloggers I would like to tag:

Lola @ Hit Or Miss Books
Cumuloquoise
Audrey @ Forwards And Bookwords
Chanice @ Inside the Mind of a Bibliophile
Arec @ Rainy Thursdays

3 thoughts on “Tagged: Reading Habits Tag

  1. I just now realized you tagged me! I will definitely be doing this because it’s such a fun post. I loved reading your answers especially since I do some of the same things!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

