Beowulf | book review

This semester I am in an early British literature course. Here are some things you need to know before reading this review: 1) I do not like British literature, especially the early stuff; 2) Although I think many of the works are beautifully written, I think the authors could have saved a lot of trees by using less words to describe something — trust me, it would not take away from the story at all; and 3) Just because I don’t like British literature doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate it, because believe me, I do. And keep in mind that many of my reviews for the books I read in class will be short and slightly sarcastic.


52357Title: Beowulf
Author: Unknown
Rating: 2 stars

Opening Line:

“Lo!”

So here’s my take on the tale Beowulf:

Some guy saves the day not once, not twice, but three times … and then he dies. The end.

I’m sorry, but I’m not going to post “spoiler alerts” for a story that is from 1000AD. I take the biggest offence to spoilers, but I didn’t mind hearing entire plot summaries that revealed the end because it’s not really a big deal to me for these kinds of works.

I think Beowulf was an interesting story that would have been more interesting and exciting if it had been shorter. I don’t mind long works, I just hated how it made me want to fall asleep. Don’t get me wrong — I thought the writing was beautiful and eloquent and something I will never be able to mimic in my entire life, but it’s not the kind of literature I enjoy reading.

However, I am an English major and do not regret reading it, so thankyou Dr. Hart for giving me this wonderful opportunity! And thankyou Joe for forever reminding me that Beowulf sucks.

Favorite Quote: “A man must act so when he means in a fight to frame himself a long-lasting glory; it is not life he thinks of.”

4 thoughts on “Beowulf | book review

  1. Okay, I actually have a degree in Anglo-Saxon and Medieval Literature, so this is totally one of my favorite works ever. But I can totally undertand why other people would hate it… the same reason I can’t stand Shakespeare, or Milton, or any of those “famous” boring old white guys from the 17 and 1800s. I think I love these stories, though, because they’re really the birth of modern fantasy… guys fighting monsters, saving the day, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely understand what you mean. I think the premise of old British literature is really interesting and cool, and I love that it birthed fantasy and I truly do appreciate it. It’s just not my thing. Whereas, opposite to you, I enjoy Shakespeare and guys like that. Everyone has their preferences! That’s what I love about literature.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

