2016 Book-to-Film Adaptations

If you guys didn’t already know, in addition to being a book worm, I am a film buff. Every year, I mark on my calendar the release date of all the upcoming films I’m planning on seeing. Of course, throughout the year, I add more to my list depending on how interesting a trailer looks. My initial list, though, typically consists of superhero films and adaptations. As I was looking at Wikipedia’s list of films scheduled for this year, I noticed quite a few book-to-film adaptations coming out this year, some of which I had no idea even existed! Though there are many more than I will be listing, here are the ones that I personally am excited for.

Alyssa’s 2016 book-to-film adaptations picks

5th-Wave poster.jpgJanuary 22: The 5th Wave

Rick Yancey’s YA sci-fi alien invasion novel made a huge splash when in came out in 2013; three years later, it’s finally being transferred to the big screen. Directed by J Blakeson, the film stars Chloë Grace Moretz, Nick Robinson, Ron Livingston, Maggie Siff, and more. I myself have not read The 5th Wave, but obviously I intend on doing so before the film is released. Hopefully the film does well, so the other two novels in the trilogy can also be adapted.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies poster.jpgFebruary 05: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Jane Austen’s 19th century society and zombie action — what more do you need? In 2009, Seth Grahame-Smith released Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, basically taking Austen’s novel and throwing in a bunch of zombie symbolism and action. The Bennet women aren’t so concerned with finding a husband in this version; they’re more concerned with staying alive. Burr Steers directs this adaptation, which stars Lily James, Sam Riley, Jack Huston, Bella Heathcote, Douglas Booth, Matt Smith, and more. I actually read this novel when it came out, but will probably reread it in preparation for the film. I’m a little worried about how good the film will be, but I guess I’ll just have to wait. I hope it’s not lame and cheesy.

Allegiantfilmposter.jpgMarch 18: The Divergent Series: Allegiant

Okay, if you seriously don’t know what Divergent is yet, you must be living under a rock. Everybody at has at least heard of Veronica Roth’s YA dystopian novel by now, especially since the first two installments in the trilogy have been adapted into films. The third installment, Allegiant, is being adapted, unfortunately, in two parts. Even worse, they’re giving the second part a completely different name: Ascendant. It’s bad enough they’re splitting the films, but couldn’t they just call them Allegiant part I and II? Disgusting. Anyway…my personal prejudices aside, Allegiant will be directed by Robert Schwentke, the same man who directed the previous film, Insurgent. Obviously, it stars Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Miles Teller, Ansel Elgort, and more. I hate that I’ll have to wait an additional year to see the ending of the series because I am extremely worried that they’ve changed the ending Roth gave us. Guess I’ll just have to wait (im)patiently…

Alice Through the Looking Glass (film) poster.jpgMay 27: Alice Through the Looking Glass

Ah, Tim Burton is at it again. Oh, wait, no he’s not. No, he’s just a producer. The sequel to Burton’s Alice in Wonderland is actually directed by James Bobin, who has directed Muppets movies and various televisions shows and that’s it. I guess we’ll see how it goes. Burton’s Alice strayed quite drastically from Lewis Carroll’s novel of the same name, so I expect Bobin’s sequel to do the same. Am I excited? Yes. Am I worried? You betcha. Burton’s Alice combined both Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass. Judging by the trailer for this film, it appears to be a lot of new material not written by Carroll. I hope to see more elements from Carroll’s sequel in this adaptation… The films brings back all the actors from the first, including Mia Wasikowska, Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, and Anne Hathaway, also starring Sacha Baron Cohen as Time. Fingers crossed, guys…

October 07: The Girl on the Train

I literally had no idea this was coming out this year, and I am so pumped. I know Paula Hawkin’s novel is constantly compared to Gone Girl, and though they do have similarities, they are very different. Gone Girl is one of my favorite novels and the film adaptation was spot-on. I sincerely hope they do a good job with The Girl on the Train. The novel gets a lot of hate, but I actually liked it. Directed by Tate Taylor, the film will star  Emily Blunt, Rebecca Ferguson, Haley Bennett, Justin Theroux, Luke Evans, Édgar Ramírez, and more. I really like Emily Blunt and I think she’ll do a great job as Rachel. The novel is told in different perspectives, so I’m interested to see how they work that into the film. David Fincher had a similar issue to deal with in Gone Girl and he perfected it (yes, I know, I’m still comparing this to Gone Girl, sorry), so hopefully Taylor knows what he’s doing, too.

A Monster Calls.jpgOctober 14: A Monster Calls

I think I actually screamed a little when I saw this was going to be a film. Thank you, Wikipedia, for blessing me with this information today. They haven’t released a theatrical poster yet, so enjoy the cover art to the book. I honestly didn’t know they were making this into a movie and I am so excited that they are. Patrick Ness is an amazing author and deserves all the recognition he can get. I loved this book, especially with the accompanying artwork. The words and pictures are dark and chilling, and I hope this mood is conveyed through the adaptation. Juan Antonio Bayona directs the film, which features a brilliant cast:  Sigourney Weaver and Liam Neeson. I mean, there are other actors, such as Felicity Jones, Toby Kebbell, and Lewis MacDougall, but honestly, all you need is Sigourney Weaver and Liam Neeson. Such a touching, heartbreaking novel…I can’t wait for the film.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them poster.pngNovember 18: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Honestly, who isn’t excited for this? In 2001, J.K. Rowling published Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them under the pseudonym of the fictitious author Newt Scamander, basically as a history of magical creatures in the world of Harry Potter. The film is a spin-off of Harry Potter and will be the first in a new trilogy, inspired by Rowling’s book. Directed by David Yates, the film stars  Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Alison Sudol, Dan Fogler, Ezra Miller, Colin Farrell, and tons of other actors. However I’m mostly excited for Ezra Miller…and, um, the fact that it’s more Harry Potter stuff. Also, it’s set in the United States, which should be really interesting.

Let It Snow- Three Holiday Romances.jpgDecember 09: Let It Snow

So I guess this is going to be a film? I’m probably going to hate it. It’s probably going to be a really cheesy dorky teenagery film, which I guess makes sense because it’s a really cheesy dorky YA book. Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances features three stories, one each written by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle. It’s probably getting an adaptation because of John Green. There’s no poster out yet for it and information is sparce on IMDb, Wikipedia, and Rotten Tomatoes since the film is in development. However, I’m not sure how there’s a release date if everything else is kind of undecided. This article claims to have all the information, though; it was written 11 months ago on a site which I’ve never visited before, so who knows how accurate this information is. I have a strong, sad feeling this adaptation will end up looking like Valentine’s Day and New Year’s Eve………

December 25: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

So here is where Tim Burton makes his appearance! Rather than directing the new Alice film, he will be tackling the adaptation of Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, the first the series. It makes complete sense that Tim Burton would be the director of this film. I have not read the book yet, but friends of mine have raved about it, so I’m including it on my list of films to see in hopes that I’ll get around to reading the book. I’ve heard it combines photography with the text, and since I love photography, I am quite interested. This film stars Asa Butterfield, Eva Green, Ella Purnell, Chris O’Dowd, Allison Janney, and Samuel L. Jackson, and more. Even if I don’t like the book, I’ll probably still see the film because that’s just the kind of person I am.

So there you have it! There are my top picks for this year’s book-to-film adaptations! I hope more make their way into this year’s lineup, but if not, I’m still excited for the ones I am able to go see. I hope you guys are as excited as I am!

4 thoughts on “2016 Book-to-Film Adaptations

  1. I didn’t realize Fantastic Beasts came out this year. I’m a little apprehensive about A Monster Calls; I’m not sure how I feel about the trailer, and I know I’m going to be particular because I loved the book so much. I also didn’t know about Peculiar Children being made into a movie (obviously, I don’t keep up with the movie world), but I love Tim Burton so I’m sure the movie will be wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

