Tagged: The Coffee Book Tag

Hey everybody, sorry I haven’t been active in a while! It’s been a crazy-busy semester and I’ve been swamped in homework, organizations, and stress. I’ve got one more final exam tomorrow and then summer is upon me, so many book reviews will be coming soon, I promise. I haven’t logged onto my blog in a long time, but coincidentally, I was tagged yesterday by Enthralling Dimple to complete the Coffee Book Tag. Everyone should go check out her blog and her answers to this cool book tag. Thanks!

Black: A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

The Maze Runner series by James Dashner

I absolutely love this series, but I know a lot of people who have said they couldn’t get
through the first book and never picked it back up. I’m not sure if this feeling is widespread, but the fact that many of my YA lit-lover friends do not share my love of this series is very sad. I do know the series has hardcore fans, though, because I am one of them and, hello, they’re being made into movies, so that has to mean something. Guys, this series is awesome. Thomas is a great narrator. There are a lot of plot twists. There’s a lot of death and destruction. There’s a lot of action. It is a great series!

Peppermint Mocha: A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

You’ve probably read (or at least heard of) Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist — that was written by this same duo, but its a lot, lot worse of a novel. Dash and Lilly is a lot better and a great wintery, Christmasy romance YA novel that should definitely be made into a movie sometime. I’m not sure if it’s a popular novel, but it should be.

Hot Chocolate: A favorite children’s book.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I’ll admit I haven’t read very many children’s books as an adult. I know I should, but I just haven’t gotten around to it. A Monster Calls I have read because, hello, Patrick Ness and all. I loved it. It actually made me cry. And I can honestly say it is not a book exclusive to children. It’s going to be a film soon, too, so I’m really pumped for that. Oh, and make sure to get the illustrated version — it really makes a difference.

Double Shot of Espresso: A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

By now, most people have heard of Flynn’s wildly popular Gone Girl, which is certainly an amazing thriller that I thoroughly enjoyed. But why stop there? I definitely did not — I read all of Flynn’s novels, and I have to say Dark Places gave Gone Girl a run for its money. I’m not sure which I like better, but Dark Places definitely had my heart pounding. I was desperate to solve the mystery. It’s told in alternating perspectives in both the past and the present. It was made into a film, but it was an independent film and didn’t get very much attention. I liked it, though, and the book is quite a page-turner.

Starbucks: A book you see everywhere.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I know the mass pandemonium is fading, but I still see the thing everywhere. This is not a bad thing, though, considering it’s my favorite book of all-time.

That Hipster Coffee Shop: A book by an indie author (a shout out)

Two Across by Jeff  Bartsch

Not sure if Bartsch is considered an indie author, but Two Across is his first and only novel, so yeah. It’s a really cute book about spelling bees and crossword puzzles and love, and I would really recommend it. Ever since I read it, I’ve been a little obsessed with crossword puzzles…

Oops! I Accidentally Got Decaf: A book you were expecting more from.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Okay so I heard a lot about this book after they made a movie about it and all I heard were positive reviews. So, obviously, I checked it out. And I was severely let down. It wasn’t terrible, but it certainly wasn’t great, and it wasn’t as good as everyone was saying. It is, plain and simple, horribly average.

The Perfect Blend: A book or series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying.

We by Yevgeny Zamyatin

Ahhhhhh! This book was so good! And yet the ending made me so mad!!!! And sad. And yet so utterly satisfied. I only know one person in this world who’s read this book besides me, but seriously guys, you should read this. I’m begging you.

Green Tea: A book or series that is quietly beautiful.

The One Thing by Marci Lynn Curtis

This is a really beautiful book about a blind girl who is suddenly able to see again, but she’s only able to see one person. It’s really quite sad and a lovely read.

Chai Tea: A book or series that makes you dream of far off places.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

The book is set in Portland, Oregon. I desperately want to travel to/live in Oregon or Washington, so it really makes me dream of being there…

Earl Grey: A favorite classic.

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Violent, but amazing. Enough said.


Okay, I would like to tag:

Poppy @ Poppy’s Best of Books

Tamara @ Read With Tamara

This is My Bookshelf Blog

Stephanie @ Adventures of a Bibliophile

Dory @ Fish That Reads

4 thoughts on “Tagged: The Coffee Book Tag

  1. Thank you for doing the tag.😊😊
    My final exams start on 13th May so I am not so regular with my posts either. In fact this semester hasn’t given me enough time to focus on my blog. That’s sad.😕

    These tags provide a light bit something to post and talk about. I enjoyed your post.😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

