The Last Star | book review

24609851Title: The Last Star
Author: Rick Yancey
Series: The 5th Wave (#3)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Publication Date: May 2016
Genre(s): Sci-fi, Young adult, Dystopian

Opening Line:

Many years ago, when he was ten, her father had ridden a big yellow bus to the planetarium.

The Synopsis

The finale to The 5th Wave picks up right where its predecessor, The Infinite Sea, left off. The group is hiding out, waiting for the moment that Evan can save them all by blowing up the mothership and putting a stop to the fifth wave. But Zombie can’t just sit around and wait while two of his squad members, Ringer and Teacup, are still missing. He and Dumbo set off on a journey to save them, not knowing that both Ringer and Teacup are far beyond saving. Meanwhile, Cassie struggles with her feelings for Evan and the knowledge that he may not come back from saving the world. And Vosch, well, he has other plans — plans to discover what exactly made Evan turn against his own people in order to save a human. What exactly could be the flaw in the 12th system? The answer may shock you (but probably not since this is YA).

The Plot

Alright, guys. We’ve all been waiting for this conclusion since reading The Infinite Sea; we’ve been craving it. Have you ever been so hungry that all you can think about is eating dinner, but it turns out your mom cooked your least-favorite meal? That’s about how reading The Last Star went for me. Well, okay, maybe not your least-favorite meal — more like all you got for dinner was a single bean. Sorry, can you tell I’m hungry? Anyway, while I was reading this book, everyone else was finishing it the same day they bought it, and I stole some peeks at their reviews. The first I read was very supportive: “This, ladies and gentleman, is how you end a series.” The rest, well, not so much, and I have to say I agree with those less-than-positive reviews. Goodreads promises “unrelenting action” in this “conclusion to this epic series.” While I do not agree with the latter, I will definitely say that the book was full of action. I’ll leave it up to you guys to decide whether that’s a good thing or not. Personally, I like a lot of action, especially in dystopias. I didn’t think they overdid the action at all. I thought there was a nice balance between the action and the downtime. A lot of people are also talking about the ending, which I will not spoil, but I have to say it was definitely expected after a certain point in the book. They did the thing that YA dystopias usually don’t do, and it’ll probably make a lot of people upset. I would have been upset, too, before reading this book, but I was actually okay with it. Read the book and you’ll find out why.

The Characters

Okay, look, I’m just going to come out and say it. Everyone else is, anyway. I hated Cassie. I don’t know why Yancey decided to make Cassie so damn annoying, but he certainly accomplished it. I really liked Cassie in the first book. Was she my favorite female heroine? No. Definitely not. But I liked her as a narrator. Then the second book comes along and I like her a lot less because you see her through other characters’ eyes, like Ringer’s, and she seems a bit more annoying. But even still, I liked Cassie’s own narrated chapters. But in this book, no, nope, not a bit. Almost hated her. Pretty much dreaded any scene she was in, whereas in book 2 I was complaining about a lack of Cassie. She was just so damn annoying in this book. What happened to her? What did you do to her, Yancey? She was whiny. She was quite dumb. Her entire character was a mess. I think you just need to read it for yourself to understand, but trust me when I say Cassie is not who she used to be. I think in book 2 Yancey started focusing a lot more on Ringer and pretty much just gave up on Cassie. Ringer becomes a lot more likable in the last two books, while Cassie becomes this annoying, ignorant child. Ringer can be a bitch, but I enjoyed her chapters a lot more than Cassie’s. Zombie gets a lot of narration in this book, too, and I liked that. Even Sam gets to have a few chapters of his own, which is interesting. I guess Yancey was making up for the fact that Cassie sucked so badly. Towards the end, we get Evan chapters, too, which get more depressing as the book goes on. As for endings, this one was pretty dismal. All the characters were fine except for Cassie. Sorry.

The Writing

I like Yancey’s writing. Obviously, The 5th Wave was by far the best book out of the three. This last book was alright, but certainly not the book I was hoping for. I liked all the action — it made for a quick read. I liked that it wasn’t overly romantic because often YA dystopias are too lovey dovey and that never makes sense to me because hello the world is ending there’s no time for you guys to make out. There was a painful sex scene, though. Yancey didn’t go that far into it because it’s YA, but it was so bad to the point that you could barely understand that they were even having sex. Some of the lines in this book were just so godawful. And the book didn’t really have the same atmosphere as the others. And Cassie was just so terribly stereotypical. Though it wasn’t the conclusion I was hoping for, Yancey did an okay job and now the series is over so I don’t have to worry about it anymore. I did like the series, and I would encourage you to read it, even though it’s not the greatest alien invasion story you could read. Still, though. Give it a shot.

My Rating

3.5 star

Favorite Quote(s): “It’s not about the time, but what we do with it.”

“I never asked him for anything. He just gave. Gave past the point where giving is sane. Is that what love is?”

“The only certainty is uncertainty, except your own death, that’s damn certain.”

“Beautiful is another word we tossed around too casually, slopping it over everything from cars to nail polish until the word collapsed under the weight of all the banality. But the world is beautiful. I hope they never forget that. The world is beautiful.”

One thought on “The Last Star | book review

Leave a Reply

