Weekend Book Haul!

DSCN5295.JPGSo over the weekend I went to a little college town in West Virginia (coincidentally named Shepherdstown) to present one of my papers at a literary conference being held at Shepherd University. Before reading my paper, I walked around the town and visited some of the cute little shops, one being Four Seasons Books. It was super cute and had two floors full of old and new books. I don’t know how I restrained myself from spending all my money there, but I did… I ended up leaving the store with three books, all of which I’ve never read before and am super excited to read this winter break (hopefully)!

 
The first book I picked out was Lord of the Flies by William Golding, a classic which I have not had the pleasure of reading yet. It was only $1 so I had to get it. The second book that my girlfriend found for me was To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, yet another classic I haven’t read.


14886108_1770289646578305_828205956_nTequila Mockingbird
by Tim Federle, a book I saw on Goodreads a year or so ago and have been dying to get my hands on. It’s literally a recipe book for alcoholic (and some nonalcoholic) drinks that have literary puns as the title. IT IS SO COOL. Take a look for yourself. Federle named the drinks by punning the titles of classic literature. Following his titles, he’ll give the novel he used as inspiration for the drink along with the publication date and author. Then he’ll give a brief description of the novel followed by the recipe and instructions on making the drink. Oh, and the bonus: many of the drinks come with a cool illustration by Lauren Mortimer. I’m in love.

I did not have the money to spend on books, but I did so anyway. Not even ashamed. I mean, the classics were so cheap, and I even got a 15% off discount for being a college student. How could I resist? I’m so ready for winter break… and my 21st birthday so I can whip up some of these cocktails.

Leave a Reply

