2016 in Review

Good afternoon, followers, and welcome to my final post of 2016. It’s been a crazy year (an understatement) and I’m ready to move forward (understatement) and start a new year. As the years go on, I get busier and busier, and the number of books I’m able to read decreases. It’s incredibly sad and I hope to change that… Reading has always been my favorite pastime, my coping mechanism, and the one thing that has kept me sane. Without books, I don’t know where I’d be in life. Becoming an English major was the easiest and best decision of my life; I truly hope in the future I’ll be able to work with books and authors and live my dreams. I turned 20 this year, and a lot of crazy stuff happened… Here’s to hoping 2017 brings much happiness and maybe happier crazy happenings. Next year will definitely bring a lot of change… I’ll be graduating from college, buying my first car, finding a place to live, and (hopefully) starting my first big kid job. I’m slightly (incredibly) terrified, but I think I’ll be okay. And there’s a lot of great books on my shelf to help me along the way. Super excited to build a TBR list for next year (stay tuned for that post) and I’m hoping to stick to it. Anyway, I’d like to talk about all the books I’ve read this year — though they are few, they mean everything to me.

Let’s start with my favorite part of the New Year: Goodreads’s Year in Books:

206I read 36 out of 100 books this year. Like I said, incredibly low because I was beyond busy, but I don’t regret reading a single book. Well…maybe that dreadful Woman Warrior…….. just kidding. I had to take an Asian-American Lit class and while my friend Lucas loved it, I was pretty harsh with my review of it. I did keep the book, though, so maybe I’ll go back to it. Anyway, I’m pretty proud that both my shortest and longest book read this year were incredible books that I will definitely read again in the future. This year was definitely a year of average books… I definitely didn’t hand out a lot of 5-star reviews this year. That has to do with my Asian-American lit class, for sure. Hopefully next year will hold better books. Not only do I have a great TBR pile, but I’ll be taking two fantastic lit classes during my senior year: Children’s Lit and a Jane Austen class. Fingers crossed, guys!

Alright, now I’d like to do a fun little statistics survey of 2016:

blankheader

I saw this on Read and Treats‘s blog and thought it would be a fun way to revisit all the books I read this year. I’ve got nothing else better to do this morning, anyway. Let’s go!

NumberOf

  • Number of books read…
    • Under 250 pages: 18. Apparently I read a lot of short books…
    • Between 400-449 pages: 0
    • Between 450-499 pages: 1
    • Over 500 pages: 1
    • Over 1000 pages: 0
  • Number of…
    • Audiobooks: 0. I don’t read audiobooks.
    • Re-reads: 1
    • DNFs (did not finish): 0. I finish every book I start.
  • Number of books rated…
    • Five Stars: 6
    • One/Two Stars: 1 / 4
  • Number of authors met in 2016: 0
  • Number of book events attended in 2016: 0
  • Number of books you read in one day: 1
  • Number of books that made you cry: 3
  • Number of 2017 books you have on pre-order: 0

BytheBooks

  • Book read furthest away from home (vacation reads?): Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. I started it on the van ride to Canada.
  • Book that took you the longest to read: Three Dark Crowns. Again. It took two months because I kept putting it down…
  • Book that you personally connected with the most: The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan. Her story is so sad, but she had the kind of attitude I hope I have one day. She was brilliant and amazing, and I related to her often. I’m so glad I finally read this.
  • Book that made you love the villain: I want to say V for Vendetta because isn’t V technically the villain? Or is the government the villain? I dunno. I guess V is more of a vigilante, or an antihero. Whatever, I’m sticking with this answer because I didn’t really love any of the villains, and villains are never really black-and-white villains, there’s a lot of gray area, so I’m stuck here…
  • Book you said you’d come back to but still haven’t picked up again: Moby Dick. I started it ages ago and still haven’t gotten past the first 200 pages. I’m trying, guys… I really love it, but it’s long and it bogs me down.
  • Book you read waaaay before it’s publication date: None. Didn’t have time to read any arcs this year, unfortunately.
  • Book you read on your birthday: Weird Girl and What’s His Name.
  • Book with a character who shares your name: None. I typically never find an Alyssa in a book. There was an Alicia in Me Before You, so that’s kinda close.
  • Book you weren’t entirely truthful about when rating (Fluff up any ratings? Rated even though you didn’t finish?): I always finish a book, and I’m always honest with my reviews. There’s no point in embellishing.
  • Book you read in 2016 but already want to re-read: All the Light We Cannot See or The Little Prince. Both were spectacular and I just enjoyed them so much.
  • Book you borrowed from a friend a long time ago and still have: None. I don’t borrow books often. My girlfriend has a stack of books I want to read, but she lives with me so I don’t have to technically borrow them.
  • Book you which you could go back and read for the first time again: All the Light We Cannot See. Reading that book was such an emotional experience. I would gladly erase it from my memory just to read it over again. Phemomenal. Please, everybody must read it.
  • Most books read by one author this year: I read 3 Rick Yancey books. I read the entire 5th Wave trilogy this year.

ThisThat

  • Happiest & saddest: Will Grayson, Will Grayson is a pretty happy book, in my opinion, so probably that one. I tend to read sad books. The saddest was probably Me Before You. That tore me up.
  • Longest & shortest…
    • By page number: 530 | 85
    • By title: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time IndianJaws
    • From buying to reading: Will Grayson, Will GraysonTaming of the Shrew
  • Best & worst…
    • Average rating on Goodreads: 3.6 stars
    • Books you read/your rating: Best: 5 stars (there were multiple books) | Worst: Donald Duk with 1.5 stars
    • Series enders: Best: The 5th Wave | Worst: Me Before You — After You was kind of a disaster and I wish I’d never read it…
  • First & last…
    • Reads of 2016: First: Fahrenheit 451 | Last: Three Dark Crowns
    • Books on your bookcase (1st book on the top left and last book on the bottom right): First: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (it’s the box set!) | Last: Dracula
  • Most disappointing & biggest pleasant surprise: Most disappointing: After You — after the great success of its predecessor, I was hoping for something more than what was delivered. In all honesty, a sequel was unnecessary. | Biggest pleasant surprise: Jaws — I’ve watched the movies since I was a kid, but I had no idea I’d love the novel even more.
  • Fandom you joined & one you abandoned: I definitely joined the Miss Peregrine fandom. I liked it a lot more than I thought I was going to, and even got the box set for Christmas. The movie was sort of a letdown, but I am enjoying where the series is going. I don’t think I’ve abandoned a fandom.
  • Series you picked up & series you quit: I picked up quite a few series, actually (5th WaveMiss PeregrineMausThree Dark Crowns), but I didn’t quit any. I’m still debating whether I’ll quit the 3DC series. Not sure.
  • Most lenient & harshest ratings: None. I’m pretty good at sticking to my ratings.
  • Most hyped & furthest under the radar that you read: Most hyped: Me Before You and The Last Star | Under the radar: Seventeen Syllables (and any of the other Asian-American lit I read, honestly)

GrabBag

  • Book you read that is red: Me Before You
  • Starts with X, Y, or Z: None
  • Book you hugged when you finished it: The Little Prince
  • Book you wanted to throw across a room: Donald Duk because it was so terrible. I ended up giving it away during a white elephant.
  • Food you craved while/after reading a certain book: None
  • Book that became an instant go-to recommendation: Me Before You
  • Furthest out of your comfort zone: The Woman Warrior
  • Read on a recommendation (that you may not have picked up yourself): Me Before You
  • Forced yourself to finish: Three Dark Crowns
  • Series or author’s works you binged (whether all at once or throughout the year): Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave

BloggingLife

Thank you to all who followed me this year, and to all who’ve continued following me throughout my crazy times. I love you all and look forward to another year of blogging with you! Happy New Year and happy reading! See you all next year (ha ha, yeah, I’m that guy) with a post probably right after midnight because I’m lame.

4 thoughts on “2016 in Review

Leave a Reply

