“Thirteen Reasons Why” TV Series — FINALLY

So I assume this news has been out for a while, but I personally had no idea about it until today. Apparently, two days ago, Jay Asher updated his Facebook cover photo with this:

No automatic alt text available.

I literally just saw it on my feed while aimlessly scrolling. How long have people known about this!? (edit: I just found an article from JUNE talking about the series — why wasn’t I informed!?) Anyway, can we all just say an amen that this novel is finally getting screen time?

For those of you who have been living under a rock for the past ten years, Thirteen Reasons Why is a novel about a young girl who kills herself, but not without leaving behind a collection of thirteen tapes, each containing one reason why she decided to end her life. Sound a little depressing? It sure is. I haven’t read this since I was in middle school… Lucky for me, this gives me a perfect excuse to pick it back up again. A tenth anniversary edition just came out this year, too, in which Hannah Baker lives! I must get my hands on it…

I have to say, I’m glad the novel isn’t being turned into a film. Netflix has come out with a bunch of incredible, critically acclaimed series in the past few years, so I think they can handle this one. They’re no strangers to book adaptations, either. The amazing first season of A Series of Unfortunate Events premiered yesterday and they did a fantastic job (review of that to come)!

First of all, I noticed it’s being directed by Tom McCarthy, who, from the looks of it, hasn’t really directed anything noteworthy. Second of all, it looks like Selena Gomez (???) of all people is an executive producer? So…there’s that.

Image result for Dylan MinnetteLet’s move on to the casting. Dylan Minnette will be playing Clay. Recently, he’s been in a couple of popular films (Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, Goosebumps, Don’t Breathe), but nothing I’ve actually bothered to watch. To be honest, he just reminds me of Logan Lerman, who I’m in love with and would prefer… but we’ll see if Minnette can impress me.

 

 

Image result for Katherine LangfordNext up we have the notorious Hannah Baker, who will be played by Katherine Langford, someone I’ve absolutely never heard of. Probably because she hasn’t been in anything at all. There’s not even a Wikipedia page for her. So I really don’t know what to expect from her, but we’ll see.

 

 

 

Image result for kate walshThere’s a slew of other random actors and actresses that will be playing in the film, but none that caught my eye except for Kate Walsh. I’m really excited that she’ll be in the series because I absolutely love her as Addison on Gray’s Anatomy.

 

 

 

So, my fellow book nerds and geeks alike, we have until March to eagerly await this release. Can you contain your excitement? Because I sure cannot. I’m excited to go back and revisit this novel since it’s been so many years. I remember really enjoying it as a middle schooler — I wonder if my opinion has changed since then.

Alright! Thoughts? Opinions? Anyone want to share in my excitement? Is anybody not excited for this? Let me know in the comments, and I’ll try to keep you all updated on this in the months to come!

…still pretty upset I am literally just now hearing about this…

Leave a Reply

