Love That Dog | book review

*Certain books are easier to review differently than in my usual format — this is one of them.

“I don’t want to

because boys

don’t write poetry.

Girls do.”

Jack doesn’t like poetry. He can’t understand why his teacher, Ms. Stretchberry, keeps assigning the class poetry assignments. He doesn’t even want to listen to his teacher read other peoples’ poems, either. But as the days turn into months, Jack begins to like poetry more and more. Suddenly, his random words written on a piece of paper start to mean something. He realizes may be he does have something to say after all.

Love That Dog is told entirely in the form of poems written by Jack. At first he hates writing, but then he loves it, and that transformation shows in his poetry. This is such a touching story about a boy and his dog, and even though I knew where the story was headed, it still broke my heart. I enjoyed how easily the narrative flowed through Jack’s poetry. I thought Jack was such an endearing character and I liked to watch his interest in poetry grow a little more each time. I know a lot of kids hate reading and writing in general, let alone poetry, and it’s teachers like Ms. Stretchberry that can really affect how a child views literature. These teachers play a critical role when children are at such a young age.

Though short, this little book of poetry is a great read for people of all ages. It warmed my heart and broke it all at once. If you’re in the mood for a quick, touching read, Love That Dog is for you. There’s even a sequel, Hate That Cat, so I’m excited to read more about Jack. I think if I even have kids, I’m going to introduce them to this book. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

