10 Things that Influence Me to Read a Book

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All they ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists!


 

This Week

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book (topic originally done back in 2013 as top ten words/topics that will make me instantly want to read a book) — so yeah basically any topic or theme or ANYTHING (ie if X person recommends it) that will make you instantly want to pick up a book. My list will likely be called Jamie-bait because there are soooo certain things you can say in a summary or a review that will just instantly draw me to it!

10 Things that Influence Me to Read a Book

1) Friend Recommendations

I would say family/friend recommendations, but no one in my family reads, except my grandma, and she only reads old, large-print mysteries, so poo. Anyway, I don’t have many friends, but I try to choose bookish friends because we’re the best kind of people –obviously. I take their suggestions to heart and typically add a book to my tbr if they tell me to. I have a friend right now (Heather, I’m talking about you) that is dying for me to read a series that she loved and I promise I’ll get to it! My girlfriend is also impatient because I haven’t read her beloved Treasure Island yet. Book recs are important to me! I just have so many sitting on my tbr shelf…

2) Dust jacket synopses

Even though covers catch my eye, it’s really the short summary on the back of the book that secures an official spot on my tbr shelf. Over the years, I’ve become kind of picky in selecting books that sound interesting or fun. I used to read all (and any) YA novel. Now? Not so much. I’m quite picky with my YA, and even pickier with any other genre. I’m trying to read as many classics as possible, too, so basically I’m just lying in a mess of a tbr pile.

3) Film adaptations

Yes, I’m one of those people. If I see a book is about to be adapted to a film, I typically read it, as long as it sounds interesting or the trailer captures my attention. Sometimes I’ll read the synopsis of the book and I’m like, eh… but then the movie trailer looks pretty cool, so I’ll read the book anyway, because it’s blasphemy to see the movie before reading the book.

4) …by John GreenZombicorns (Zombicorns, #1)

John Green, I love your writing so much, I’d even read your grocery list. Whatever you publish, I will read it. I even read your ridiculously silly zombie apocalypse novella, Zombicorns, which was actually pretty good, in my opinion.

 

5) Assigned for a class — duh!

I am a college student. More specifically, I am an English major, so I read a lot of assigned books. This is my last year, and I’ve really tried to read as many assigned books as possible. My first couple years, well… I slacked. But I’ll let you in on a little secret: it’s impossible to read every book assigned to you as an English major. I’m not talking about speed-reading, skim-reading, only-read-a-couple-select-chapters-reading. I mean legitimate, actual reading. I truly have tried, though, especially this year. I’m going to miss it all.

6) Award-winning or really popularImage result for all the light we cannot see

Sometimes, I really do ignore my doubts about a book if it’s being talked about all over the blogverse or if it’s got a shiny medal on the front cover. I wasn’t particularly interested in reading All the Light We Cannot See, but because it was so talked-about and award-winning, I read it. This was a wise decision — it was incredible!

 

7) Subscription boxes

I used to subscribe to OwlCrate, which is the greatest YA book sub box on the interwebs. I miss it… But, I still have books to read from these boxes that I haven’t yet read. The entire purpose of the sub box is to read the books you get, so obviously I’m going to read them.

8) Zombie apocalypse themed

I am a sucker for zombie novels, movies, TV shows…the works. I’m obsessed. I used to be a little more obsessed as a teenager, but that madness has remained within me still. I am terrified of zombies (silly, I know), but I love them.

9) It’s not a series — thank god!

I used to have infinite time to read. I mean, not really — I had to balance high school, work, college classes, stupid stuff at home, and somewhat of a social life. Even through all this, it seemed like I had so much time to read. Now days, I’m busier than I ever imagined. Just thinking about my busyness makes me anxious, so instead I’ll focus on this blog post. I used to love getting immersed in series. I would read the entire series in a week or two and relish in that joy. Now, I prefer stand-alone’s. I have so much going on in my head, it’s hard to dedicate so much headspace to a series with its many characters and plots. I’d rather read a story and finish it. I’m hoping one day to fall back in love with series.

10) Book sales

Sometimes, if a book is on sale, I’ll cave. How can I resist books on sale??? This happens rarely, though. Usually, if I buy a book on sale, it’s because I’ve wanted to read it for a while already.

Thanks for reading! Sorry I’ve been so inactive lately. I’m trying, I really am. Please feel free to leave a link to your own Top Ten Tuesday in the comments!

4 thoughts on “10 Things that Influence Me to Read a Book

Leave a Reply

