You NEED This Cool, Bookish App!

Have you ever wished you could combine Goodreads and Instagram into one glorious app? Well, so did every other book lover out there, and someone decided to do something about it. In 2016, Todd Lawton and Jeff LeBlanc, the co-founders of the awesome site Out of Print, created the perfect app for all of us, and it’s called Litsy.

It’s only available on the app store right now, but it should hopefully be released to Android and web browsers eventually. So if you’ve got an Apple product, GO DOWNLOAD IT ASAP. Once you create your profile, you’ll be able to get started sharing your bookish opinions and photos!

19265052_1877248089215793_1223803825_n

Okay, so here’s my profile. Underneath all your basic profile info, you can display what book you’re currently reading, like on Goodreads; I’m reading Hollow City. Then you’ve got your basic feed with all your posts (the dots and lines icon), a tbr list (the open book icon), and a read list (the closed book icon). I’m currently uploading all the books I’ve read and it’s taking a loooooong time. Not only am I posting that I’ve read the book, but I’m also posting my reviews! As for the reviews, you only get 451 characters (you think that’s a reference to Fahrenheit 451?), so they’re more like little blurbs than full-scale reviews. Some people simply post a link to their reviews on their blog, others condense their reviews into short ones — I think I may do both, once I catch up. Too bad Litsy doesn’t team up with Goodreads to allow you to sync your books. That would save a lot of time.

19389687_1877248039215798_1090226394_nIn addition to posting reviews about books, you can post your favorite quotes and even little blurbs about them. Quotes can be either typed out yourself or photographed and posted! It’s pretty rad. Photos tend to be more interesting, though. As for blurbs, they’re more like random comments you have to share about a book. So, say you’re reading Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen and, like most sane humans, absolutely hate Isabella and John Thorpe. You just post a blurb about your disgust and people can like it, because obviously they agree with you, because hello, they are awful. In addition to liking your reviews/quotes/blurbs, people can also comment on them and add the book you’re posting about to their tbr. And those things matter, too.

19357680_1877248042549131_1193360302_nLitsy has something called Litfluence. Basically, any time someone likes your post, comments on it, or adds a book from it, you get Litfluence points! They don’t really matter — they’re just a way for you to see how much people like your stuff. Your Litfluence also keeps track of all this! You start with 42 (a reference to Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy). As you can see, I’ve only backlogged 90 books so far. I’ve read far more than that. I have a long way to go…

Anyway, my point is, Litsy is an incredible app and it’s loads of fun! I feel like a lot of people don’t know about it, so please spread the word and join this community of book lovers! I promise you’ll enjoy it. And if a lot of people have heard of it and are already using it, why has no one told me about it??? Oh, and make sure to follow me @TheUltimateBookGeek. And if you do follow me, sorry about the spamming of reviews…I’m really far behind.

5 thoughts on “You NEED This Cool, Bookish App!

Leave a Reply

