Hollow City | book review

The Details

Title: Hollow City
Author: Ransom Riggs
Series: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2
Format: Hardback
Page Count: 396
Publisher: Quirk Books
Original Publication Date: 2014
Genre(s): Young adult, Fiction, Fantasy

The Synopsis

The peculiar children have lost everything — their home, their time loop, and, most importantly, their ymbryne’s ability to turn back into a human. While on the run from wights and hollowgasts, the children must find the only ymbryne that hasn’t been captured: Miss Wren. Without Miss Wren, there’s no hope in changing Miss Peregrine back to her human form. What will they do if Miss Peregrine is never able to return?

The Plot

This book picks up right where it’s predecessor leaves off — with the children paddling away from their long-gone home, Cairnholm island. It is once again told in first-person, narrated by Jacob. And of course, the story is helped along with vintage photographs, the very thing that makes the Miss Peregrine series so unique and interesting. I have to say, this book is a lot more exciting than the first! Don’t get me wrong, I loved the first book, but this one was more action-packed and exhilarating! The kids journey all across London, visiting different time loops and winding up in a lot of danger. There were some twists, with a big one at the end, but nothing was too surprising. To be honest, the whole thing seemed too “safe.” There was danger, but it was like I knew everyone would be okay in the end. This series isn’t in the business of killing off characters, and though I love all the characters dearly, there isn’t any fear, nor is there any emotion. Other than that, I don’t have too much to complain about with this book. Like I said, it was an exciting read and I learned a lot about perculiardom.

The Characters

Jacob continues to be a great narrator. He’s funny even when there’s not much to laugh about (this was quite a depressing book…). He’s full of self-doubt, but manages to save the day countless times. And his ongoing relationship with Emma is endearing, as always. Honestly, the two are like mom and dad throughout the story… I do wish there was a bit more emotion between the two, but I mean, it’s not like there’s any time for that in their present situation, so I understand.

All the other children are just great. Olive can get on my nerves, but she’s very young and babied, so it’s fine. The only other one to frustrate me is Enoch. I understand his being a realist, but wow, he literally never says anything nice or positive. A bit obnoxious. I think he’s only ever done one nice thing between the two books. I mean, I guess that’s something…

The Writing

I truly do love Rigg’s writing. It’s natural, conversational, and easy to follow. He’s not a nineteenth century poet or anything, but I have to admit, he’s a great addition to the YA genre. He knows how to keep the suspense, too! And he writes great dialogue — it never seems wonky.

I’m really excited to read the last addition to this great series. It’s turning out to be a lot more interesting and enjoyable than I ever thought. Moving on to Library of Souls!!

Favorite Quote(s)

“I never remember nice dreams; only the bad ones stick.”

“I’ll never understand ninety-nine percent of humanity.”

“At the heart of nature’s mystery lies another mystery.”

My Rating

TEXT HERE (5)

 

Leave a Reply

